Author Topic: CHAPTER 1 - SECTION 7  (Read 435 times)


  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 341
    • View Profile
« on: April 09, 2019, 09:16:48 PM »
Of that very Brahman which has been presented for meditation as (Hiranyagarbha) identified with the Vyahrtis, another meditation, identifying It with the groups of five things beginning with the earth, is being stated. Because of the similarity of the number five, they are equated with the metre called Pankti. [Sampat is a kind of meditation in which a lower thing is thought of as some other higher thing because of some point of similarlity. Here the point of similarity is the number five. The different five factors, constituting the lower human personality, are here identified with the factors making up the higher cosmic Virat.] There by everything becomes identified with Pankti. And a sacrifice, too, is identified with Pankti, because the (metre) Pankti has five feet (with five letters is each), and a Vedic text says: 'The sacrifice is equated with Pankti' [Since a sacrifice is performed with five factors-the sacrificer and his wife, the son, divine wealth, and human wealth. Thus everything can be eqauted not only with the metre Pankti, but also with sacrifice.] (Br
As a result, all things beginning from the worlds and ending with the atma (Virat) that are thought of as reduced to Pankti, are thereby virtually imagined to be a sacrifice. Through the sacrifice thus imagined, one becomes Prajapati (Virat) who is identified with all that is equated with Pankti. As to that, it is being shown how all this Universe consists of Pankti (five factors):

1.7.1 The earth, sky, heaven, the (primary) quarters, and the inermediate quarters-these constitute the groups of five in the context of the worlds. Fire, Air, Sun, Moon, Starsthese constitute the group of five deities (lit. shining ones). Water, herbs, trees, space, and atma, constitute the collection of five natural things. The word atma implies the cosmic gross body (Virat) because this is a context of natural factors. Iti adhibhutam, this is with regard to natural things-this expression is used to imply the two groups of five worlds and the five deities as well, because the groups of the worlds and the five deities as well, because the groups of the five worlds and the five deities, too, have been mentioned earlier. Atha, after that; adhyatmam, with regard to the personal, the three groups of five each, are being stated: Those beginning with prana (function of exhaling) constitute the group of five vital forces. Those starting with caksu (eye) make up the group of five sense organs. Those commencing with carma (skin) form the group of five constituents of the body. This much, indeed, is all that pertains to the personal. And the external also is fivefold. Therefore, etat adhividhaya, having imagined these thus; rsih, the Vedas, or some seer endowed with this vision; avocat, said. What? That is being said: Panktam vai idam sarvam, all this is verily constituted by five factors; panktena eva, through the fivefold ones-the ones relating to the personal; sprnoti, one strengthens, fills up; panktam, the external fivefold ones, because of the similarity of number; that is to say, they are realizes as identical. The meaning is that, he who realizes all this (existence) as fivefold becomes identified with Prajapati Himself (who is constituted by the five gross elements).